Hall of Heroes and Community Awardees

Each year, Navian Hawaii honors patient heroes and healthcare leaders who made a significant difference in the lives of others.

Hall of Heroes

Past honorees have included artists, musical legends, philanthropists, TV personalities, business owners, entertainers, a former legislator, an attorney, a teacher, and several pediatric patients.

Community Awardees

Healthcare Professional of the Year:

2022: William Loui, MD, FACP, Adventist Health Castle

2021: Sheri Richards

2020: Dr. Craig Nakatsuka

2019: Dr. Melvin Palalay

2018: Patricia Nishimoto, DNS, FAAN

2017: Dr. Serena Lo, Kaiser Permanente

2016: Dr. Ryon Nakasone, Hawaii Hemotology

2015: Jodi Shaw, SW, Kaiser Permanente

2014: Co-Awardees:  Dawn Minaai, MD (Straub) & Michelle Cantillo, RN (HPH)– Advance Care Planning

2013: Dr. Daniel Fischberg, QMC – Chief, Pain and Palliative Care

2012: Dr. Sze Mei Chung, Kaiser

2011: Dr. Jarod Acoba, OnCare

2010: Dr. Shaun Berry

2009: Dr. Dan Davis, Queen’s

2008: Wade Makizuru, HMSA

2007: James Rexroat, Pharmacist, Times

2006: Beth Freitas, Queen’s

Healthcare Organization of the Year:

2022: Hawaii Pacific Health, Pali Momi

2021: Straub Medical Center

2020: CareSift

2019: Healthcare Sector Partnership

2018: The Queen’s Medical Center Geriatric Services

2017: STAT Medical, Inc.

2016: The Plaza Assisted Living

2015: Kahala Nui

2014: Kaiser Permanente – Inpatient Palliative Care Program

2013: HMSA

2012: Arcadia and its family of companies

2011: UHA

2010: Kapiolani Women’s & Children Center

2009: Tripler Army Medical Center

2007: Hawaiian Islands Medical, Laura Steelquist

2006: Hale Ho Aloha

Philanthropist of the Year:

2022: Jane and Daniel Katayama

2020: Dr. Roger Brault

2019: Clarence T.C. Ching Foundation

2018: Winnie Lee

2014: Dot Mason – George Mason Fund

2012: The GIFT Foundation

2011: Employees of Bank of Hawaii

2010: Dr. Daniel and Jane Katayama

2009: Robert (Nate) & Donna Nathanson

2008: Dr.’s Roger & Maria Brault

2007: Hawaii Hotel Industry Foundation

2006: Milton Chang

Community Supporter of the Year:

2020: Malama Hawaii Hospitals

2019: Let Grace In

2018: Fred Dauer

2017: Percy Ihara

2016: Hawaiian Electric Companies

2015: Pulama Lanai

2014: Hawaii Energy Connection

2013: The Honolulu Star-Advertiser

2012: Divas Doing Good

2011: Tesoro

2010: Mark Gregory, Medical Center Pharmacy

2009: Russell Chun

2008: Kirk Hovious

Distinguished Leader Award

2008: Terry Fujii